31 Suspected Monkey Pox Cases

The National Center for Disease Control (NCDC), Abuja, has said that 31 suspected cases of Monkey pox virus have been recorded in seven states.

The affected states   are Ekiti,  Akwa Ibom,   Lagos,  Ogun,  Bayelsa, Rivers and Cross River  states. The spread of the outbreak was first reported on Sept. 22, 2017 in Bayelsa.

Confirming these developments in a statement, National Coordinator, NCDC, Dr. Chikwe Ihekweazu, said all 36 states of the federation and the FCT have been notified. He further explained that samples have been collected from each suspected case for laboratory confirmation.

According to him, “results are still awaited. So far, there have been no deaths recorded. It is unlikely that many of the suspected cases are actually Monkey Pox, but all are being investigated.”

Monkey Pox is a rare viral Zoonotic disease with symptoms in humans similar to those seen in smallpox patients. It is however much less severe and with a low fatality rate.

It is a self-limiting disease, which means patients tend to recover with time. Nonetheless, supportive care and management of condition is required and mostly successful.”

Ihekweazu said that the Federal Ministry of Health, through the NCDC, is supporting the affected states to ensure the outbreak is brought under control and to limit further spread.

“NCDC has activated an Emergency Operation Center (EOC) to coordinate the outbreak investigation and response across the affected states. The EOC is currently supporting State Ministries of Health in their response to the outbreak through active case finding, epidemiological investigation and contact tracing.

He assures that measures have been put in place to ensure effective sample collection and testing for laboratory confirmation.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here